- Pros and Cons of Being Vegan
- 20 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
- Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge Brownie Mix
- Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili-Flavor
- Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars in Peanut Butter
- Pillsbury’s Original Crescent Rolls
- Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
- Wheat Thins
- Unfrosted Pop-tarts
- Girl Scouts Thin Mints
- McCormick Bac’n Pieces Bacon Flavored Bits
- Sour Patch Kids
- Duncan Hines Whipped Frosting
- Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles
- Nutter Butter
- Smucker’s Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping
- Taco Bell’s Bean Burrito
- Thomas’s New York Style Bagels
- Smucker’s Uncrustables
- Monster Energy Drink
Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
It seems like Veganism is the latest and greatest trend of the 20th century. I’m not sure if the increase in popularity is because of Netflix documentaries shedding light on the disadvantages of processed foods and alarming obesity rates. Forks Over Knives, What the Health, Cowspiracy and the Game Changers are just a few notable documentaries that have been floating around. Or perhaps we’re just hearing of more people that live a Vegan lifestyle because of the popularity of social media.
If you’re unfamiliar with what it means to be Vegan, no worries! That’s understandable. It wasn’t until I became a vegetarian myself that I learned the difference in being vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian and the list goes on. To sum it up: vegans are individuals who avoid animal products. Seriously, no animal products at all, not even eggs. The phrase was coined in 1944 by a group of vegetarians who left the Leicester Vegetarian Society in England and formed the Vegan Society.
So, what’s the major difference in being vegan versus vegetarian? Neither vegans nor vegetarians eat meat, therefore there can’t be that much of a difference right? Wrong! Vegans don’t consume any products that relate to animals at all! There is no dairy, eggs, honey, meat or any other product that comes from animals. Vegetarians don’t eat meat but will consume dairy and eggs. Needless to say, the vegetarian lifestyle is more flexible than being vegan.
Being vegan definitely isn’t easy. It’s a conscious decision that takes time, dedication, and research. It’s for sure not something you can decide you will do in one day — at least if you’re trying to be healthy about it. But being vegan now is easier than ever! Many restaurants and grocery stores are getting with the trend and are now offering countless vegan options. Some foods you didn’t know were vegan would probably really surprise you. In fact, it might have you feeling inspired to try it (for at least a meal or two!)
Pros and Cons of Being Vegan
As with all things, choosing a vegan lifestyle comes along with pros and cons. Obviously the first major con that comes to mind is what you can and cannot eat. It can become quite the task coming up with flavor filled meals that involve zero meat products. But what glorious thing doesn’t come without some difficulty — right? Here are a few pros and cons of being vegan:
- The documented health benefits of a vegan diet.
- It encourages you to be mindful about what you eat.
- You eat a wider variety of foods. In fact, you may start eating foods that you’ve never tried.
- A vegan diet could lead to weight loss or help lose weight.
- Veganism is healthier for the environment.
- There is no impact to animals or harm done to them through vegan products.
- Being vegan can help reduce the amount of money you spend on groceries!
- You have a smaller choice of foods.
- A vegan diet can lead to possible nutrient deficiencies.
- Being vegan requires much more diligence than eating meat or being vegetarian. You have to be very careful about what you consume.
- It can be more difficult to find options when dining out.
- Being vegan can cause a feeling of social isolation and a set of unrealistic expectations because you may not always get the desired results.
20 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan
So, now you know the pros and cons of a vegan lifestyle and you have probably determined whether it’s right for you. Even if you don’t plan to go full on vegan, eating vegan meals once or twice a week is still a great idea and a place to start. While it may seem difficult, there are likely plenty of foods you didn’t know were vegan. Some of them might already be a few of your favorites!
Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge Brownie Mix
Yes, you read that right! Duncan Hines brownie mix is VEGAN. If you’re anything like me, then you have a bit of a sweet tooth. It’s okay to indulge every now and then! Everything is good in moderation — don’t you agree? Well, next time you’re craving a nice chocolate brownie, try out Duncan Hines. The fact it’s vegan should make it a little more guilt-free.
Did your jaw just drop? Because mine did when I found airheads were vegan. If I had known this during my childhood, then I would have been a self-proclaimed vegan from age six with a diet comprising nothing but airheads.
Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili-Flavor
Big doritos fan right here! So, while the nacho cheese doritos may be off of the table, spicy sweet chili doritos are still on the foods you didn’t know were vegan list!
Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars in Peanut Butter
Some mornings you just don’t have the time to cook up a five star breakfast. Actually, there are more mornings where I don’t have the time to cook any breakfast. Hence where Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars come in the clutch. If you’re constantly on the go like me and searching for some vegan options, this granola bar is a must have! Be sure to purchase the peanut butter flavor, though.
But is there even such a thing as Oreos without milk? Well, you don’t have to ditch milk since there’s oatmilk and almond milk options now! So, Oreos and milk can still be your favorite post dinner snack. Original Oreos, Double Stuff, Carrot Cake, Lemon, Golden and Chocolate Peanut Butter Oreos are all on the foods you didn’t know were vegan list.
Pillsbury’s Original Crescent Rolls
If you have ever had Pillsbury’s crescent rolls, then you know they are a ten out of ten. Thankfully, these delicious rolls are also vegan friendly! You can also indulge in the Pillsbury Southern Homestyle Original Biscuits, Grands Flaky Layers Sweet Hawaiian Biscuits, and Grands Southern Homestyle Buttermilk Biscuit guilt-free too!
Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup
If you’ve glanced at Hershey’s candy bars, then you know there are zero vegan options. Not even dark chocolate! But oddly enough, Hershey’s chocolate syrup is 100% vegan and doesn’t contain any milk. Add it on top of some yummy vegan “ice cream” for a nice, sweet treat!
I love a good charcuterie board! So, next time you’re hosting people and need a snack idea, grab some wheat thins and vegan cheese as a healthy option for you and your friends. The Original, Sundried Tomato & Basil, and Sweet Onion flavors are all on the foods you didn’t know were vegan list.
Okay, when I first saw unfrosted pop-tarts I thought “absolutely not.” However, it changed my life once I tried them! The best part? Unfrosted pop-tarts are vegan friendly. Yes, the unfrosted flavors like strawberry, blueberry and last but not least – brown sugar cinnamon. Beware frosted pop-tarts contain dairy products.
Girl Scouts Thin Mints
Is there any more glorious time of year than when Girl Scouts are out selling cookies? Luckily, there are vegan options even with Girl Scout cookies! And I believe Thin Mints is the best cookie they sell.
McCormick Bac’n Pieces Bacon Flavored Bits
So many people love bacon. It might be the one form of meat that you just don’t think you can give up. But there’s good news. You don’t have to give it up completely! Enter: McCormick’s Bac’n Pieces Bacon Flavored Bits. While it’s not really bacon, it gives you a nice bacon flavor. Which is a close second!
Sour Patch Kids
Sour Patch Kids are like the entire experience of becoming Vegan because first it’s sour then it’s sweet! See what I did there? However, Sour Patch Kids are vegan friendly, which means trips to the movie theatre are easier since there’s a snack option to choose from!
Duncan Hines Whipped Frosting
Duncan Hines keeps coming in clutch with the vegan sweets. First the brownie batter and now whipped frosting! So, if you’ve been steering clear of the frosting aisle because of fear of no options — you’re in luck! However, the cream cheese option contains milk so keep that out of your diet.
Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles
Wanting some vegan fries to go along with your vegan burger? Grab a package of the Ore-Ida Golden Crinkles, Golden Tater Tots, Golden Steak Fries or Golden Waffle Fries! These options are all egg and milk free. All four are on the foods you didn’t know were vegan list!
Probably one of the vegan foods that surprised me the most was Nutter Butters. They make this fan-favorite with flour, sugar, corn syrup, oil and some other ingredients. However, there is no milk! Nutter Butter Bites are also vegan.
Smucker’s Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping
Marshmallow topping is probably my guiltiest pleasure. Unfortunately (and disgustingly enough) most marshmallows contain gelatin which is made from cow hooves. However, big shout out to Smucker’s because of their gelatin-free vegan Marshmallow ice cream topping that is now available! Add it on top of vegan ice cream and hershey’s syrup for a cheat day sweet!
Taco Bell’s Bean Burrito
Taco Bell is the GOAT (greatest of all time) of fast-food chains in providing vegan and vegetarian options. If you’re on the road traveling and need a quick vegan pick-me-up lunch, then try Taco Bell’s Bean Burrito (without the cheese.)
Thomas’s New York Style Bagels
Do you like bagels for a quick breakfast meal? There’s just something about a bagel with your morning coffee. Luckily, Thomas’s New York Style Bagels are on the foods you didn’t know were vegan list! Add some tofu cream cheese and call it breakfast of champions.
Because a peanut butter and jelly sandwich now and then is good for the soul. Most of the Uncrustable flavors are vegan friendly. Just be sure to check the packaging before purchasing!
Monster Energy Drink
Okay, while this isn’t technically a food, I know tons of energy drink fans. Seriously, I don’t think my husband would make it long without them! Luckily energy drinks don’t pick a side and play it safe by being available for everyone.
There are definitely pros and cons to leading a vegan lifestyle that each person has to consider for themselves. While following a vegan diet can be a challenge, there are definite benefits. More restaurants and grocery stores are now offering vegan dishes. And as noted above, there are likely plenty of foods you didn’t know were vegan. We covered 20 easily accessible vegan friendly foods. Although they aren’t foods normally on a vegan diet, we hope you enjoy the fun and variety!
Some links in this post are affiliate links. As an amazon associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you.